Sign up for our newsletter
News >

Continued International Cooperation

Continued International Cooperation

Published: June 19, 2018

Five leading e-navigation countries decided to continue and strengthen cooperation by signing a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on e-Navigation test beds. Australia (AMSA), China (MSA), Denmark (DMA), South Korea (MOF) and Sweden (SMA) will work together on standards and solutions. The agreement means that the countries will test each other’s solutions and provide international feedback, making sure that the solutions suit the global shipping industry.

The signed MoU builds on the previous one, which helped in getting two EU-projects – EfficienSea2 and STM Validation – work closer with the Korean Smart Navigation project. This has resulted in considerable cooperation on the common infrastructure, the Maritime Connectivity Platform (MCP), and the related Developers Forum. The services and solutions in these and other projects use MCP for identity and service registry. Since the projects and their public and commercial members develop operable services within the projects, requirements from all over the world are used in making this common information ecosystem stable, adaptive and reliable.

Sea Traffic Management (STM) services for ships make up the majority of the operable solutions available on MCP. Through the growing cooperation with the MoU-member states and others, the existing services will develop and new ones will emerge worldwide. STM adds interoperability to the information ecosystem, which lowers the threshold and cost for both users and service providers alike.

AMSA – Australian Maritime Safety Authority
MSA – China Maritime Safety Administration
DMA – Danish Maritime Authority
MOF – Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries
SMA – Swedish Maritime Administration

Share the Story